New York to Washington, DC by train

Our recent journey in the USA reminded me of a shorter trip I took a few years ago in the USA from New York to Washington, DC by train.

A Kiwi living in Brighton

A few years ago I spoke at Columbia University in a lecture and spent a few days in New York. The university let me stay on campus in an apartment for a few days so I took the opportunity and visited a few of my favourite spots in New York. I also had a conference to attend in Washington, DC and decided to take the train.

The train left from Penn Station at 9.06 am. Surprisingly the train was clean with comfortable seats and space for my luggage. We travelled through a tunnel under the city and the first station we went through is Secaucus and then Harrison an industrial wasteland. Eventually we stop at Newark Penn Station. The scenery gets a little less industrial with more tree’s and a forest before we arrive at Trenton around 10 am. After we leave Trenton we pass through Bristol and through a…

View original post 180 more words

Leave a Reply

